Department of Music

Music Brass 2The department is housed in the purpose built Robertson Music Centre, which has class teaching rooms (including a computer suite and recording studio), smaller rooms for individual teaching and an auditorium seating 200. There are also dedicated music teaching rooms in Lower and Junior Schools.

The music department throughout the school is focused on equipping all students with the skills and knowledge needed to enjoy hands-on experience of music making at the highest possible level and across all styles and genres. All areas of the curriculum include activities involving listening, performing and composing.

Lower School Music

Work here focuses successively on musical notation, scales and chords, taking in use of music notation software, a study of Jazz and Blues, musical form and analysis, and initial tuition in guitar.

Upper School

In U4 (S2) girls are introduced to playing bass guitar and drums and study different musical forms and styles. GCSE Music (Edexcel) includes the study of 12 set works ranging across music of many centuries as well as popular styles and world music with coursework composing related to these topics and performance.

Sixth Form

Courses at Higher and Advanced Higher (SQA) encourage students to widen their knowledge and develop their creative skills and musical insight.

Teaching Staff

The Music faculty has three full time staff teaching in Lower and Upper Schools:

Peter Thomson

Dip Mus Ed. (RSAMD)

Helen Fraser

BMus, PGCE. Teacher of Music

Elizabeth Morrison

DRSAMD, BMus PGCE. Junior School Music Specialist

Jonathan Raynor

MMus, Dip ABRSM, Co-ordinator of Lower School Music

All our teachers are registered with the GTCS (General Teaching Council for Scotland) and they all hold a post graduate teaching qualification (usually PGCE or PGDE) if their degree is not in education.

Peripatetic Music Staff

Mrs Linda Aslet – Piano
Mrs Elena Bannatyne – Voice and Piano
Miss Lesley Bell – Clarinet and Saxophone
Jennifer Marr - Brass Teacher
Mr Gordon Campbell – Pipes 
Mrs Harriet Davidson – Cello
Miss Clea Friend – Cello
Dr Jane Gardner – Piano
Mr Tom Gordon – Percussion
Ms May Halyburton – Double Bass and Bass Guitar
Mrs Sue Hughes – Flute and Theory
Mr Robin Hutt – Piano
Mr James Letham – Piano
Miss Anne Lewis – Voice
Mr Roddy Long – Head of Strings, Violin and Viola
Miss Anne Macdonald – Violin, Viola and Piano       
Mrs Paddy Murray – Violin
Miss Adele Neilson – Guitar
Mrs Rachel Brady – Horn
Ms Jennifer Redmond – Piano
Miss Emma Roche – Flute
Miss Simone Sahyouni – Voice
Mrs Lizzie Watson – Voice
Ms Anthea Wood – Bassoon
Elizabeth McKeon - Soprano and Music Teacher
Fraser Kelman - Oboist


Faculty of Music Handbook 2018-19